Chris Cornell: RIP 2017

I don’t mention music very often in my writing or updates, but I spent well over a decade as an avid guitarist and bassist, including a failed attempt to sustain myself as a studio musician. My favorite project, Sarn, was fronted by my close friend Jay Bartell (aka Jay Walken).

Jay was majorly influenced by Chris Cornell and Perry Farrell. He died from complications while recovering from chemotherapy, suddenly, when all his numbers were looking fantastic. Listening to Cornell has always reminded me of Jay.

Now, Chris Cornell, a rock n’ roll icon, is gone in a sudden and unexpected manner. I suppose the next time I there is a storm I can strain, and see if I can hear  the two of them singing in key. RIP.

Leave a Reply

